Archetype by M.D. Waters

image

Available at Amazon.com

Emma wakes in a hospital, with no memory of what came before. Her husband, Declan, a powerful, seductive man, provides her with new memories, but her dreams contradict his stories, showing her a past life she can’t believe possible: memories of war, of a camp where girls are trained to be wives, of love for another man. Something inside her tells her not to speak of this, but she does not know why. She only knows she is at war with herself.

Suppressing those dreams during daylight hours, Emma lets Declan mold her into a happily married woman and begins to fall in love with him. But the day Noah stands before her, the line between her reality and dreams shatters.

In a future where women are a rare commodity, Emma fights for freedom but is held captive by the love of two men—one her husband, the other her worst enemy. If only she could remember which is which. . . .

“No,” I moan, and my chest shudders with another sob. ” This is not happening.” Foster glances between the other two. “What’s going on?” I shake my head sharply from side to side, trying to stabilize my thoughts. “You tried to kill me here,” I whisper hoarsely to Noah. I point straight ahead. ” the tank used to be there. You turned off the life support and Sonya stopped you.” Foster glares at Noah. “Is that true?” He jerks his head up to Sonya for confirmation. “Is it?” “Yes,” Sonya says. Noah drops hard to the floor. He stares at me with wide eyes. “They were only nightmares at first,” I say to no one in particular. “Not once did I think they were real. Over time I believed them to be a bad memory.” Another sob breaks through. ” I still have these dreams almost every night.” I stand and then to face Her. I came here for answers, only to come away with more questions. I have been seeing this place through Her eyes.

Archetype was an OK read for me. I wanted to really love this book but just couldn’t connect with the story. I thought the plot was amazing and original but the delivery fell short for me. The main issue I had was that Emma didn’t know herself or anything for such a long time it became a chore to read through it. I think the problem in this sense was the excellent writing. The author was so amazing at setting the tone and the voice of Emma that it didn’t come across well with me. It also bothered me that she never used contractions. It made sense in the beginning of the book when she was learning everything but as time went on she could’ve spoken like everyone else. Especially when she regains her memory. I was also disappointed with the love interest in the story. I didn’t like either one of the guys all that much. However, between the two choices she had I felt she picked the wrong one. As far as the science goes I felt like by the end of the story the author was reaching. It wasn’t that it’s a bad book it just wasn’t for me personally.

Leave a Reply

