External Forces by Deborah Rix

image

In the future what’s left of America has closed its borders to everyone in favor of genetic preservation. They dispose of anyone who opposes the order as well as their biggest fear…the deviant. After overhearing her mother Jess learns she is deviant and will be discovered and killed. To avoid that fate she enlist in the Special Forces with her best friend Jay. But Jess quickly start to uncover secrets in their camp and cling to the hope of getting outside the borders to escape what may happen to her.

This book is beyond amazing and totally engaging right from the start. After reading so many YA/Dystopian stories it was refreshing to read something new and original. Even the romance part of the book takes a course that doesn’t follow the norm. There were a few times the story reminded me of other books. For example, The training Jess receives, her early relationship with Matt, and how she has something a little more special about her reminded me of Divergent. But that’s about where the similarities end. All of the characters were relatable and realistic and there was excellent character development in the book. I also enjoyed the use of science throughout the story and how believable it was. It touched on interesting themes towards the end of the book. The end of the story was let down for me though. I know the author plans to make this a series but it was too abrupt for me. I think it could’ve been wrapped up better than what it was and it didn’t exactly flow with the chapter either. Overall, the complex and well constructed plot definitely made for a page turner and a highly recommended book. I can’t wait for the sequel to this story!

I release my anger and give up my shaky control with relief. I am free. The heat gushes out from my center, I’m glowing, and everything around me slows down.

Leave a Reply

